My Weekend

1.Revolver – This is a Guy Ritchie movie (Lock Stock, Snatch, etc.).  The first half to two-thirds, I was thinking it was pretty typical of his other work, crime-comedy, etc. only not quite as good.  Then it got crazy.  With literally ten seconds left in the mvoie, I thought “this film is extremely strange, and I don’t really like it”.  But the ENTIRE PLOT unravelled in the last ten seconds of the movie, no joke.  I’m not exaggerating.  The credits started rolling, and I literally screamed.  I couldn’t believe it.  I am still thinking about it.  I’m not sure I liked it, but I think I did.  Like I said, Crazy.

2.Synecdoche, New York – I can unabashedly say that this was the weirdest movie I’ve ever seen.  But what should I expect from the guy who wrote Being John Malkovich?  I can’t say I liked this movie, because I don’t think I understood it well enough.  But I didn’t enjoy it enough to watch it again.  I think it’s like wine, an acquired taste.  What does it say about me that I don’t drink wine?

3.Made of Honor – I told Lacey that we could watch whatever she wanted, since we’ve been watching a lot of my picks recently.  This was a run of the mill rom-com, and it was just so-so.  I like hyphens.  Anyway, I didn’t hate it, which is nice for a Lacey pick 🙂

4.Shooter – My family (and especially my sister, who is in love with Marky Mark) has been yelling at me to watch this flick, so I finally did last night.  I enjoyed it, but not as much as I would have five years ago.  I’m starting to get disenchanted with overt violence.  It’s one thing to watch something like Terminator or Transformer movies, where it’s obviously fantasy.  But this was very, very real.  And I’m not in love with the idea of retributive justice like I used to be.  Killing for the sake of killing isn’t a good enough answer any more.  That said, two of the three people that die at the end needed to go, or else they’d be committing more atrocities, so I guess that’s ok.  And it was a good enough movie.

5.U2 – Washing windows on Saturday, I listened to their new album again, which is becoming more and more fantastic with every listen.  I also put on Achtung Baby, which I don’t think I’ve ever listened to front to back.  In my youth, I would only listen to the “popular” songs, but that is really an amazing album.  Joshua Tree is certainly their breakout, and probably my favorite, but Achtung Baby might be their best all-around album.  Awesome.

3 Responses to “My Weekend”

  1. lacey Says:

    I plan on listening to Achtung baby when I work out today, I hope it’s on my ipod..?

  2. Jess Says:

    So you didn’t like Shooter as much as I did! You have to admit he was pretty great in it though! What did you think, Lacey?

  3. lacey Says:

    I actually liked it! A little over the top, but I liked the plot.

Leave a Reply

