Terminator Salvation

Growing up in the Melton household was probably more strict than many households, but certainly less strict than a lot of others.  It grew more lenient as we grew older, and by the time Joel was a teenager, he was allowed to do a lot more than I had been allowed at that age.  I’m sure this is the same with most groups of siblings, the parents realize they were probably a bit too strict and therefore loosen their grip.  I remember with absolute clarity not being allowed to go with my father to see Terminator 2:  Judgement Day.  I was absolutely crushed.  I had seen the first on TV, and the second looked absolutely out of this world.  I was 14 at the time, and thought I was ready for my first rated-R flick.  I will never forgive my parents for not letting me go 🙂  All kidding aside, I also remember the day my Dad first brought T2 back from the video store.  He was all set to rewatch it, having considered it worth of a second viewing from the theater.  I begged him to let me stay up late and watch it with him, and upon hearing the desperation in my voice, he relented.  That he also allowed my 11-year-old brother to view it was of no consequence to me at this point.  I watched in absolute awe the skill with which James Cameron brought his vision to the screen.  I have since watched that movie probably 50 or more times.  I love them all, they form seminal moments in my life.  Which brings me to yesterday.

Joel and I were able to catch the latest installment in the franchise, Terminator Salvation, yesterday.  After T2, I figured it was all over.  T3 was fun, but unnecessary, and acted as merely a launching point for the next wave of Terminator movies.  I wasn’t very happy to hear that McG was on board to direct, as I don’t think much of him.  But when they announced that Christian Bale would  be playing John Connor, most of my fears were allayed.  I was pretty excited to see the machine-mankind war of T4, and it was quite good.  I definitely enjoyed it, but left the theater wondering if my enjoyment was because of the first 3, or because of the actual merits of this individual film.  I’m not sure yet.  To be sure, there was a lot of action, some cool special f/x, nice moments/homages, and even a nice plot twist.  I just didn’t get the same sense of awe, like any new ground was being broken, like I did with the 2nd.  I suppose that’s the price you pay not having Cameron at the helm.  Anyway, the film was a lot of fun, and definitely worth the admission price.  However, I found myself yearning for the days when Terminator movies actually meant something.  At least to me.

2 Responses to “Terminator Salvation”

  1. joshgibbs Says:

    My sentiments exactly. I had a really good time with this movie, but it wasn’t what I expected. I was kind of hoping that Bale was being added to the Terminator franchise in the same way he was added to the Batman franchise. I was hoping for something really humane and thoughtful. Terminator Salvation was neither, and I think I enjoyed it in the same way I enjoyed the others.

    In the end, I think McG is just kind of a frat boy. I couldn’t believe it when the token babe showed up in this movie. George Clooney’s nipple suit couldn’t have robbed this franchise of a chance at real human drama any faster.

  2. ReanoAnobia Says:

    Hello All.
    I the first day here.
    If it is interesting to you,new Pic

    http://adrienne-barbeau-nude.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

