Movie Marathon

I enjoy movies more than most people.  There, I said it.  I wasn’t a big partier in college, and many weekends I can remember going to the video store on Friday afternoon, and getting like 6 or 7 VHS tapes and watching them whenever I wasn’t studying.  It was like one long movie marathon weekend, though I didn’t couch it in those terms.  This continued to some degree when I moved out to Moscow, though I had more good friends, and so I didn’t watch quite as many.  But my love of movies has always been with me.

When I married Lacey, of course, my movie-watching habits died down a good bit.  She can’t just sit around all day and watch movies, so even before kids (when we actually had time to ourselves), we rarely would sit down and watch more than one movie at a time.  But occasionally she would relent, and we would have what we called “movie marathons”.  In fact, I remember a couple times on special occasions, she would make me these “coupon” booklets that had things like “get out of the doghouse free” or “cook your favorite meal”, and one of the coupons would be “have a movie marathon”.  It was her way of letting me do my thing every once in a while.  Since Noah was born, though, I can count on one hand the number of movie marathons we have had, just because life with kids and without is so unbelievably different.  For instance, the kids don’t go to bed until about 8:00.  If you start a movie right away, you’re already looking at 10:00, and by that time, you both are so exhausted from work/kids/etc. that all you can really do is collapse into bed.  And that’s if you DON’T watch any TV shows, which we do (and quite a few).  Fridays and Saturdays are about the same.  You can have the best intentions of staying up a little later, but in my case, I often have to wash windows on weekends, and so I’m just as pooped as I normally would be on a weeknight.

All of that to say, I can’t remember the last time I had a “movie marathon”…until Saturday.  We started out the day taking down Christmas decorations and putting them away.  And then Lacey decided to make some applesauce (yum!) and I decided that I would have a good old movie marathon, one with Noah and the rest without.  Here’s what transpired:

1. (11:15 AM – 2:00) Star Wars:  Episode IV – A New Hope.  It took that long because we are potty-training Noah and we have to pause it every 20 minutes or so.  But I am going through all 6 episodes with him, and we were on to #4.  He has liked them pretty well so far, which means that he has relented to sit through most of each movie.  He especially liked Jar-Jar Binks.  He always asks to “watch Star Wars?!” or “watch Binks?!”

2. (2:00 – 4:00) Away We Go.  I had just bought it on Blu Ray, and Lacey wasn’t feeling great, so she took a nap, and I took that opportunity to watch this fantastic film a second time, and it was just as good (or better) than I remembered.

3. (8:00 – 9:30) (500) Days of Summer.  This was a very well done, fun, dare I say wonderful little movie.  I liked the non-linear method of storytelling, I liked the use of music and dance, I liked the lead characters (especially Zooey Deschanel who oozes beauty and sexiness), and I thought it was particularly poignant in its heartbreaking and yet satisfying ending. 

4. (9:30 – 11:00 PM) Extract.  Yikes.  I was definitely hoping for more from Mike Judge (Office Space), especially because of the cast that he had assembled.  But this was depressing, poorly edited, and rarely humorous.  Major strikeout.

So, I had my first legitimate movie marathon in I don’t know how long.  It was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

