Snow Days

I had the last two days off from school, due to snow. It has been really cold and windy here, as well, so I haven’t been able to get out and do much around the house except for shovel. I’ve taken advantage of the past couple days to catch up on a few movies. Here is a rundown of what I watched:

1.Whatever Works – This is Woody Allen’s latest. I am a pretty big Allen fan, and I’ve seen almost every one of his movies since the mid-90’s. I’m not exactly sure how he keeps them fresh, since they are all so similar, but he does it. They all have the “Woody” character, which is basically him. They are all somehow tired or bored with their life, and don’t really see the point of doing anything meaningful. Life is hard, deal with it. Your existence is meaningless, stuff like that. This was no different. Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm, Seinfeld) plays Woody. He does a fantastic job. He’s a pissed-off ex-physicist who goes around complaining about everything and everyone. He ends up falling for a girl half his age, but through a series of bizarres circumstances, she leaves him, and you end up with the thesis that everything is chance, there is no rhyme or reason to life, just do whatever works for you and try to squeeze some joy out of life while you still can. It’s terribly odd, this movie, and yet I quite liked it. The first hour, in particular is hilarious. But it is certainly a dark comedy. As a Christian, I take away different conclusions than what he intended, obvoiously, but it is another well-done, well-acted, delightful little Woddy Allen movie.

2.The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard – This is one crass movie. And I say that with as much affection as I can muster, because I really like the people involved. Jeremy Piven is the main character, who I’ve liked since he was most famous as John Cusack’s sidekick, and through his fabulous Ari Gold role on Entourage. He is hilarious as a “gun for hire” at car dealerships because of his ability to sell anyone anything at any time. His crew is a group of side-actors headlined by Ving Rhames. I wish I could tell you that this is a good movie…it isn’t. But it is genuniely funny in parts, and plays its laughs for all it’s got. Will Ferrell makes an amazingly funny cameo near the end. I can’t recommend this movie, but I laughed a lot.

3.Zombieland – This was by far the best of the bunch. The fist 5 minutes are hard to watch (gross!), but after that, it settles down and becomes a remarkably enjoyable movie. The “rules” for surviving zombies are spot-on funny, Woody Harrelson is fantastic, and there are actually some really touching moments. This is a zombie movie with a heart…though it’s not always apparent. The shock value is definitely there, so beware if you’re squeamish. I coldn’t stop laughing though, particularly during the Bill Murray cameo. Priceless. Anyway, if you don’t mind violence and language, this is well worth your time. I enjoyed it immensely and would watch it again in a heartbeat. The soundtrack, script, acting, everything is superb.

Leave a Reply

