Final Top 10 Movies of 2009

Well, I’ve finally seen all the movies I feel like I needed to see to make a competent Best-of Movie list from last year. I will mostly be updating my original list, which you can see here: https://joshuamelton.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/top-10-movies-of-2009/
I did change the order a bit, and I moved 2 movies into the top ten that I saw after the original list, bumping I Love You, Man and State of Play (both very good, by the way). But these, in my mind, are clearly the best movies released last year. I have descriptions of the replacements (The Hurt Locker and District 9) if you search the older entries on the blog. But now, without further ado, here are the Top 10 Movies of 2009:

1.Away We Go
2.Up in the Air
3.The Hurt Locker
4.Inglourious Basterds
5.The Hangover
6.Avatar
7.District 9
8.Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
9.Up
10.Star Trek

–Just one additional note. In all fairness, this list should have been grouped into the Top 4, Middle 3, and Bottom 3, because I feel like there were two major dividing lines. The Top 4 were clearly the cream of the crop, and there is a major drop-off between 4 and 5. And then, as much as I loved those last 3 (Up, especially – though it didn’t congeal quite as well as the others, and didn’t quite live up to the first 10 minutes of the movie, which were spectacular), they just didn’t belong in the same league with the top 7. However, I like round numbers, and the movies were all excellent, so there they are.

Leave a Reply

