The Big Lebowski

Saturday night, we had people over for a Big Lebowski party to celebrate Jeff Bridges (The Dude) winning the Best Actor Academy Award. It was a great time. We hung out, ordered pizza, drank White Russians, I had the Wii set up with Bowling on it, and then we finished by all watching The Big Lebowski. I hadn’t seen it in a while, so I was quite excited for it. I wore my best pajamas and slippers, looking as disheveled as I thought I could pull off. As I sat in my living room and watched the movie with the 12 or so people that were there, I realized again why I love this movie so much. From the very first scene of actual dialogue – the first bowling alley scene – the characters are so well-defined it’s scary. Rarely is a movie written so brilliantly any more. Every single role is amazingly drawn, and I think I laugh more in that scene than in any other scene in the entire movie…and that’s saying something. Imminently quotable, superbly acted, with a wonderful soundtrack and incredibly gifted filmmaking, The Big Lebowski remains one of my favorite movies of all time. Beware though, it’s rated R for a reason. As the narrator states, “Do you have to use so many cuss words?”

Leave a Reply

