Spring Break

The first day back from spring break is always a very lazy day. I’m tired from getting up early. The kids are restless, and not ready to be back to school. The day seems to last forever. For all that, it’s totally worth it to have a spring break built into our schedule, and I wouldn’t dream of giving it up. I had a great break. I washed windows like a mad man, put together a swingset, celebrated Easter with family, and spent a lot of time with my boys and my beautiful wife. I was also able to stay up later, and therefore watch a few movies (finally!) Here is a recap.

1.How To Train Your Dragon – I took Noah to see this. I thought it looked cute, and I knew Noah would love it, which he did. He’s still a little young to understand what’s going on, or even tell you what happened, an hour after the movie. But the animation was fun, and he was very intent on it, particularly the flying. I thought the beginning of the movie was a little dull, but it got much better, and halfway in, I was invested. It definitely ended a little cheesy, but it is a kid’s movie after all. Overall, good entertainment for kids and parents alike. I had fun.

2.Date Night – Lacey and I haven’t been out by ourselves very many times in the past three years (for obvious reasons). This current stretch had been from Christmas, so we needed a night with just us. Being HUGE fans of The Office and 30 Rock, we figured this was the perfect opportunity since the movie stars Steve Carrell and Tina Fey. To that end, it was a touch disappointing. I thought the first half hour of the movie was a little boring, and I didn’t laugh much. Now, it did pick up some momentum, and there were some VERY funny scenes and bits of dialogue as it went on. But for the most part, they were fairly cheap laughs. Not the type or volume of hilarity I expected from these two, who deserve much better material than they were given. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the movie – I did. But I was hoping for more. It had great potential with the whole marriage-with-kids-regain-the-spark angle, that the movie just didn’t quite pull off. Unfortunate.

3.The Informant! – Let me just say this: Matt Damon was terrific. The movie itself, however, was incredibly frustrating. I was yelling at the TV, I was irritated. The problem is – it’s based on a true story! The basic nuts and bolts is that the main character is absolutely insane. He’s cooperating with the FBI, and at the SAME TIME, embezzling millions of dollars from his company, lying to everyone, and talking to anyone and everyone he’s not supposed to. It was fairly entertaining, but I’m not sure what the point of the movie was. So, I can’t really say that it was “good”. I laughed in parts, but if there’s not going to be a real moral or meaning, then I need to be entertained way more than I was.

4.Whip It – Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut starred her and Juno (I’m calling her that because that’s how I think of her, and it’s easier than saying Ellen Page), along with several other actors that you would recognize if you saw them, but are too numerous to name. Overall, the story was a bit mundane – chick doesn’t really fit in, so she joins roller derby. It has your typical “girl power” elements, that were a bit of a yawn. But those were mixed in with some genuinely excellent parent/child relationship moments, that I really liked. The best bits of the movie revolve around Juno’s parents, who were superb. I had fun with this movie, and while it was just ok overall, I think I can actually recommend it as a good time. The only thing that *really* bothered me was the fact that it takes place in a small town in deep Texas, and basically NO ONE has a southern accent (including the father who has lived there all his life, and follows football religously). Ridiculous.

5.Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans – This is a crazy movie, and I cannot recommend it. I enjoyed it to a point, and Nic Cage was SUPERB, but it was literally insane. Plus, I don’t really think Cage learns his lesson, and that is depressing as hell.

6.The Time Traveler’s Wife – I do like both Eric Bana and Rachel McAdams, but this movie was not good. It was ridiculous, disjointed, cheesy (expected), and boring. I thought there was very little chemistry between the two leads, the story didn’t focus on anything really interesting, and the way he meets the little girl was a bit creepy. Overall, I thought it pretty much sucked, and I wasn’t thrilled with any element of the movie, including the performances, which were lackluster at best. Shoot, man, even Ron Livingston (Office Space), who I generally love, got on my nerves.

7.Law Abiding Citizen – Take out 2 to 3 scenes, and I really like this movie a lot. Since they are in, not only can I not recommend it, I’m not sure I cared for it at all. There are some great moments – surprises, good performances from the leads, some laughs, action, and the characters seem to learn from their mistakes, and repent (to a degree) – I LOVED the final scene. But I have to take the entire film as a whole, and I was disgusted too much to give it a good rating overall. Yeesh.

2 Responses to “Spring Break”

  1. Lacey Says:

    i guess you forgot as well as i that we did go out in February to see Valentine’s Day with Joel and Traci, so technically it hasn’t been since Christmas. all that to say it had been awhile and i had a wonderful time and thought Date Night was super cute, but definitely could have been better.
    and i couldn’t agree with you more that Time Traveler’s wife really did suck.

  2. jmmelton Says:

    No, I didn’t forget. That’s why I said “by ourselves” and “just us”. Like you said, we went out with Joel and Traci before, which isn’t just the two of us. Hence, it had been since Christmas since it was just you and me.

Leave a Reply

