Odds and Ends

1.New Chuck Tonight! Chuck Fans – it is CRITICAL that you watch these last 6 episodes LIVE. The ratings need to come up, and while it is looking good for a 4th season, nothing is guaranteed.

2.The NFL schedule is out, and I’m already jacked up for the new season. The Colts, as always, will be title contenders, and I’m hoping we can get back to the Big Game and win it all this time! I like our draft picks (more on that later), and though we have a pretty tough schedule, I’m optimistic. Big Games include week 2 (September 19th) against the Giants, Manning Bowl II, which we will most likely be attending live with a bunch of family, and a brutal stretch at Philly, Cincy, at New England, San Diego, and Dallas. Can’t wait!!

3.Speaking of the NFL, the draft was on basically all weekend, starting Thursday. I’m typically excited at first, and then get a little bored by it, and this year was no exception. The only thing I was really shocked by was the combination of Denver trading 3 picks (!!!) to move up and get Tim Tebow in the first round, and Jimmy Claussen dropping all the way down to pick 48 in the second round. Now, I’m not an NFL exec, but this seems insane to me. Claussen has been running a pro-style offense for three years, is a proven fiery competitor who can play through pain, has a picture perfect throwing motion, knows how to read a defense, was generally agreed upon to be the 1st or 2nd best QB in the draft, and he falls that far? Tebow, on the other hand, is mostly a running QB, has had to re-work his entire throwing motion, doesn’t know how to run an NFL offense, or read a defense, and will now be playing against pros, which means that his whole “my desire to win will carry me” thing is over with. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Tim Tebow is not a pro QB, and he never will be. Feel free to quote me if I’m wrong (which is definitely possible 🙂

4.Notre Dame’s spring game was on Saturday, and we learned virtually nothing about them, except that they will be in the spread offense, running a mile a minute. And even though new Coach Brian Kelly and the team remain a bit of a mystery, I’m fired up as hell for this season. If I can’t be optimistic with this coaching change, then God help me. Go Irish!

5.The concert season is starting to get in full swing! I’m hitting Pearl Jam in about a week and a half, for the first time in 9 years, and we just bought tickets to John Mayer/Avett Brothers! I am totally pumped to see The Avett Brothers, they are definitely becoming one of my favorite bands. The summer can’t get here fast enough!

Leave a Reply

